Me as a Commercial Critic

I guess I watch too much television. I see so many commercials, and I seem to have an opinion about every single one of them. I think I'm going to start making lists of them - like for instance:

           My favorite commercials

Geico commercials
 New Pepsi commercial where the two guys are at a diner and they hear the song - "Why can't we be friends". The pepsi guy scoots over next to the Coke guy and offers him a Pepsi Zero. The Coke guy takes it and starts drinking and the Pepsi guy is taking video of him drinking it. Then the Coke guy realizes that the Pepsi guy is going to put the video on YouTube, you see them breaking out the window of the diner while they fight. It's hilarious! I'm still a Coke person myself though, and won't drink Pepsi.

           Commercials I hate

Any car selling, most of the cellphone selling commercials.

           Commercials that make me laugh 

 There was one commercial that I loved to watch. It was of a family in a car, the two boys in the back seat. The older boy tells his mother who is in the front -"Mom! I need more minutes for my phone." He holds up his cellphone. She turns around and tells him she just gave him minutes. He tells her yeah, but those were roll over minutes. The mom just glares at him, she looks like she would love to just smack him upside his head. This commercial isn't playing any more, but I still love it! I guess because I can relate to it. I've felt that way with my kids very often.

I think the way to get me to buy things is to make a commercial that is funny and something that will be remembered.

Stupid commercials

Some commercials seem very stupid. Like the ones with the guy on a tree branch jumping up and down until it falls on a car. I mean yeah, it does make a point, But it's still stupid. And I know these commercials don't air any more but the ones where they showed the cellphone bars in everyday items, like a stack of papers, or a bunch of buildings in a row or some other things. Some of them I never got, but then they would only show it for a few seconds at the most, so you had to have a fast eye.

Sad commercials

I know you aren't going to believe it, but there was a commercial that would make me cry when I saw it. It was one where the pregnant woman asks her husband to go get her some ice cream and so he grabs his keys and gets in his car, he backs out into the road and wham! A car comes around the corner and hits him! The message was to fasten your seat belt every time you get in your car, no matter how short the drive is going to be. I just thought it was so sad that this man got hurt or killed and his wife was about ready to have a baby.

Creepy Commercials

Burger King tops the list on this one. What is up with the creepy king outfit? I recently heard that BK was almost bankrupt, it's not a wonder with their stupid/creepy commercials! I wasn't sure if I should put these commercials in the stupid category or that it deserved it's own category. But since there are several of them out there, I opted for the category of it's own.

I'm sure I can think of some more categories for commercials, just give me a day or two.



Leave a Reply.